Hope Has a Way….


Michigan has finally emerged from its winter slumber. The past three days I’ve been wandering around my yard looking for peeks of my perenials starting to emerge. There’s something about those perenials….the way they keep coming back year after year, winter after winter, and they spread and grow and thrive. I love spring. I love the reminder of new life, of things to come, of hope after a long cold winter. I’ve been hooked on singer Sara Groves since my good friend Shelli introduced me to her. Here’s a song that keeps me wandering around looking for glimpses of hope.

Hope Has a Way….
You do your work the best that you can
you put one foot in front of the other
life comes in waves and makes it’s demands
you hold on as well as your able

You’ve been here for a long long time

Hope has a way of turning it’s face to you
just when you least expect it
you walk in a room
you look out a window
and something there leaves you breathless
you say to yourself
it’s been a while since I felt this
but it feels like it might be hope

It’s hard to recall what blew out the flame
it’s been dark since you can remember
you talk it all through to find it a name
as days go on by without number

You’ve been here for a long long time

Hope has a way of turning it’s face to you
just when you least expect it
you walk in a room
you look out a window
and something there leaves you breathless
you say to yourself
it’s been a while since I felt this
but it feels like it might be hope

Here’s another glimpse of hope. Click on Toddler Planet under links. A fellow IBC survivor finished her treatment and was just told she was NED (no evidence of disease). Yay!

3 thoughts on “Hope Has a Way….

  1. Amy says:

    Well, things are also looking nicer here after a few chilly days. The patio work will probably be done by the end of next week, so if you want to take another dive south to enjoy the sunshine, I’m shopping around for comfy outdoor seating! The fireplace chimney is going up! I had to transplant my dogwood and Japanese maple, but so far, so good– they’re surviving. I noticed that the grapevine survived futher along this time, so that I think it will shade the pergola sooner this summer! And maybe I can even make grape juice or jam? Or Charis and Elliot can just eat them straight up. Remember when they did that at mom and dad’s a few years ago?

    You’re getting closer to the end… good luck on Monday… I hope the platelets cooperate so that you can go on the trip with Jeremy!

    I divided my irises, too, when the patio work started, and each of the 3 clumps is now as big as the first, it seems like. So maybe this fall you can take a clump, too? I got them from the little old ladies at the Marietta Garden Club, an old southern tradition. 🙂 Overall, I think I’ll finally have more time to garden again now that Ollie is big enough to putter/crawl around outside with me.

  2. Linda Adams says:

    I totally love Sarah Groves. Glad you found her. And glad you have glimpses of hope along the way. You are amazing, Jen! Love you! Linda

  3. Shelli says:

    i do so love that song . . . and many, many others of Sarah Groves. I love you! You are bold and beautiful to me. Lean on Jesus!

Leave a Reply

