Today’s Rantings


Why does the weather turn cold every time I have chemo? It’s crazy. It’s supposed to be in the 50’s here all week and maybe even a bit of snow on monday! Yikes. I guess it goes with the cloud that suddenly appears about two days after I have chemo and doesn’t leave for a good week. Then suddenly it dissapears and I am OK again. It must be the chemo drugs and brain chemistry or something.

Here’s something I did. I’m not sure if I was brave or stupid. We’ll have to wait and see. I basically skipped my neulasta shot yesterday. I just couldn’t do it. I swear it makes me sicker than chemo and I just couldn’t go get it. It’s supposed to kick in my white blood cells to fight infection and well…..I thought I’d just see if I could go without it. I’m also seeing which makes me sicker…..the chemo or the shot. Let’s hope this little expiriment doesn’t land me in the hospital with an infection. I’m also doing some herbal suppliments of my own that are supposed to improve white blood cell counts so….we’ll see if it works well enough. I just saved my insurance company like $3500…..no kidding….the shot is SO expensive.

My nurse left me a message that we’d let it go for now but they could lower the amount of my neulasta shot……LOWER THE AMOUNT! You mean I could have less of that stuff that makes me dog sick! I think they’re going to coax me to come in on monday. We’ll see. Maybe I’ll just ask for a blood test to see what my levels are.

Jeremy leaves tomorrow and my mom will come stay with me for a few days. This could be adding to my blue-ness. He’ll be gone till Thursday. I already miss him.

2 thoughts on “Today’s Rantings

  1. throwslikeagirl74 says:

    Heya 🙂 I hate the Neulasta truck as well (as in truck that runs me over every other week), but I will say I’ve never had to miss a chemo because of it and I’m on dose dense. Here’s to hoping you don’t need it :), but if you do that it really does help keep those counts up.

  2. Sarah S. says:

    What kind of symptoms do you get from your shot? Maybe the lower dose might help. I have not had any problem with my shot. I do not know why. It is weird though. I hope you counts stay high! 🙂

Leave a Reply

