Good News First


I’m going to give you some good news first. I AM NOT BRCA 1 or 2 GENE POSITIVE! This is very good news and a relief. I don’t have to wonder for the next 20 years if my children carry the gene or if my sister has it. Whew….I am relieved. I guess my cancer is environmental of some sort…..water, virus, who knows. I doubt I’ll ever know.

The bad news is I’m not a very good rebel. I skipped my neulasta shot and now I have a urinary tract infection. They might not be connected…..but I feel pretty yucky so I’m regretting it. Tomorrow I go get my labs done so we’ll see…..they may still make me get the shot anyway.

I’ve felt yucky….but not nearly as sick….so the neulasta is it….but I guess if it makes me healthy and fights infection I should grin and bear it.

4 thoughts on “Good News First

  1. Karel Shadley says:

    That is very good news about it not being genetic. UTI’s are awful and I hope you start feeling better soon. It must be a tough spot to know what to take and what not to take and to figure out which is the lesser of the two evils. We will continue to keep praying!
    Karel

  2. Chanda says:

    Just wanted you to know I was checking in on you! Sorry about the UTI but SO happy to hear about the markers!! What a wonderful thing to know…

    Sending you all sorts of healing thoughts.

    My friend, John, just finished his chemo for NHL and it seems to be working!! Tumor has shrunk so I’m passing those healing vibes on to you as well

  3. Shelli says:

    I love you for being so brave and strong and for believing in yourself enough to try skipping the shot. I also love you for being so brave and strong that you’ll take the shot if you need it. You’re such an inspiration to me. I pray for you all the time. Every time Esther or Abraham wear a hand-me-down (which is almost everyday), I think of you and I pray, pray, pray! I love you! Fear Not!

  4. Suzanne says:

    That’s so good. I’m waiting to find out that news-I have only boys but I worry about when they’ll have kids!

Leave a Reply

