Comfort


I have a TON of cards that I keep in a basket for safe-keeping. In fact, my mom and I went through them a bit last night. Every day I get cards and they remind me that people are praying and how much they care. A friend from church sent a card today. Here is the verse she included:

2 Corinthians 1:3-5: “Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God. For just as the sufferings of Christ flow over into our lives, so also through Christ our comfort overflows.”

So Jeremy has been out of town since Sunday and my mom came to stay with me. She left this afternoon and I cried. She only lives 10 minutes away, but I cried! This chemo really gets me blue for about a week. She promised to come back later that night if I needed her but I tried to be brave. She left and I went about doing the usual things…..and you know what…..HE DID GIVE ME COMFORT! I thought I’d be crying all evening and she’d be back by bedtime, but I did just fine. The kids kept me busy and the nausea seemed to subside a bit and we did OK. They’re tucked in bed now and I’m half watching American Idol while I type.

I am comforted daily by the people God has blessed me with and the simple reminders that I CAN DO THIS!

2 thoughts on “Comfort

  1. Sarah S. says:

    You are a very strong woman! Keep on smilin:)

  2. Rev. Sue Wynn says:

    Dear Jen,

    Just wanted you to know that Jeff and I are still praying, and we are thankful for the comfort and peace that the Lord Jesus is giving you. Know that you are loved by us (you already know you’re loved by the Father and His Son, but His love is greater than any of us can know). His love surrounds you!

    Love from your sister in Christ,
    Sue

Leave a Reply

