Blessed


I’m blessed and I know it.  God is a gracious God and I am proof. 

I’m going to be honest with you as to WHY I am blessed, and it’s not because I have recently been told my cancer is gone.  It actually has nothing to do with having or not having cancer.  You see, God blessed me long before I had cancer and I would have been blessed if I had died of cancer.  Someone wrote me and told me early on that I would either have healing on earth, or in heaven…..but either way healing would come.  

How could I say I am blessed because God spared my life when others are dying around me.  Are they not blessed?  Yes, they are blessed!  I so want to live, but if I didn’t, I know without a doubt that I have an inheritance waiting for me in heaven and that is far more of a blessing than living.

Here’s a good definition of being blessed from Wikipedia: 

“To be blessed” means ‘to be favoured by God’. Blessings therefore are directly associated with God and comes from God. Therefore to express a blessing, is like bestowing a wish on someone that she will experience the favour of God. “May you have a blessed Christmas“, therefore can also be translated as: “May you experience the favor of God during this Christmas period.”

So how am I blessed?  Each and every day as I battled cancer God sent someone to bless me.  I’m going to try to remember them all but I may forget….

Jeremy, my husband and best-friend, who has loved me every step of the way who tells me he loves his boob-less, bald beauty, and reminded me those are not the reasons he loves me so much,

My mom who played with my children while I slept, and my dad who filled in for her when needed and told me not to worry about anything but getting better,

My sister and brother-in-law who took care of the deductible on our insurance and paid for house cleaning for me every week, and the ladies from the Natural Families Group who chipped in and got me housecleaning as well.

My mother-in-law Kim who came and did laundry, and laundry, and more laundry.  And her husband Doug who came and spent two long days building a fence around our backyard so I wouldn’t have to run after Elijah as much,

For Kathy Devries who organized meals for my family and the wonderful people at Portage Free Methodist Church who brought them to us after every chemo, and the teachers at Charis’ school who brought meals as well.

For my dear college friends who have sent gift cards for restaurants, words of encouragement and constant prayers,

For Mike and Amy Dark who took care of our lawn mowing this summer, 

For emails from around the world reminding me that prayers were going up,

For the cards I got virtually every day.  I have them all saved in a big basket and I will cherish them forever,

For the doctors who always spoke words of hope to me and who were brutally honest at times, but told me what I needed to hear.  Dr. V-Webb, Dr. Kalinowski, Dr. Jacobs, Dr. Liepman, Dr. Lynch, Dr. Merajver, Dr. Grossheim….ladies, you inspire me everyday.

For the nurses in the infusion room.  I don’t know how you do what you do everyday, but I am grateful.  Thank-you for making me as comfortable as possible and for Traci at Dr. Kalinowski’s (Hi Traci!)….You were so kind and made me feel so comfortable with such an awful diagnosis in those early days,

And Dr. Alfaraz and Sadie and Bonnie at his office.  You gave me the extra natural stuff that tasted awful but I am convinced gave me an extra edge against this cancer,

And of course my kiddos who would give me hugs to help the chemo and kept me moving on days I would have rather buried myself under the covers and shut out life. 

I know I am loved and I know I am blessed.  Thank-you.

2 thoughts on “Blessed

  1. Karin says:

    It blessed me to read about all of God’s children who reached out with doing arms and loved you and your family in many meaningful, creative and practical ways. Love ya, friend!

  2. Kim says:

    You are a blessing to so many. When I spend time with you or read your blog, I can’t help wonder if I would be as courageous as you should cancer strike my body. I don’t believe I would, but because of your witness I would certainly strive to be. Through you God has taken something so vicious (cancer) and brought forth good from it. The faith and courage you have shown us is astounding. You truly are blessed, and through you God has blessed us.
    I love you,
    Kim

Leave a Reply

