Can’t Sleep


I can’t sleep. On my way home I bought an iced coffee and forgot to ask for decaf. On the other hand it might be the impending surgery. Nothing like a little caffiene and a mastectomy surgery to keep you awake at night. The hospital sent me a letter about a CD I could pick up to help me relax as I prepare for surgery….some visualization type thing. I should have taken them up on it huh!
Actually today was a really great day. I should be tired. I took all three of the kids down to Michigan City to go to an outlet mall and then we drove up the coast of Lake Michigan to Warren Dunes State Park for the afternoon. I used to do this once in a while when I only had Charis but it seemed more challenging with more children. We did it though…and either I’m getting more patient or their just behaving better….but we all remained quite sane throughout the trip. I really enjoy these kind of days with my kids.
I met another cancer survivor on the beach today (Hi Gloria!). She finished up almost a year of chemo in June. She had lymphoma. She’s in remission now (yay!) so if you think about it say a prayer for her that it stays that way!
The other thing that happened today was that I scheduled an appointment at U of M for Monday. Yesterday I emailed the doctor I have seen over there a few tiimes. I just wanted her opinion on the surgery. She thought I should come in, and thankfully they were able to squeeze me in. I think I’ll feel a little better after a second opinion and Dr. Merajver is one of the top IBC doctors in the nation. So having her thoughts before surgery is a good thing. I’ll keep you posted on what she says.

4 thoughts on “Can’t Sleep

  1. Christa says:

    Did you get some Crocs?
    I’m jealous, sounds like a great trip!

  2. Pam (fellow IBC Warrior) says:

    I’m so glad you are going check in with Dr. Merajver before you proceed. Just let me know if I can help any.

    Pam in Kzoo (formerly MN)
    IBC IIIb, +++

  3. sprucehillfarm says:

    Ask your doctor for something to help you sleep. You will probably need it after your surgery too. I had lots of trouble sleeping before and after my surgery. It doesn’t hurt to have something just in ccase you need it! 🙂

    Did you get a hold of Whymommy about doing Mothers With Cancer?

  4. Beth Voigt says:

    Hey Friend! I haven’t chimed in for awhile. We were without power for 4 days over here in the Quad Cities. 94 mph winds whirled through here last Monday and left everything looking like a war zone. I’m glad you made it to the outlet mall. Man! I can’t believe how time flies by…we were supposed to do that this spring. It sounds like you and your kiddos had a great time. Is your surgery still scheduled for the 29th? I’m praying for you!

    Love you, friend!
    Beth V.

Leave a Reply

