Double


Thanks to everyone who came out for my bye-bye boob party. I had a great time. It was a beautiful evening and a perfect night for a ladies night out. We ate boob shaped truffles (thanks Christa!) and a lovely boob cake (thanks Katie!). There was a lot of laughter and chatting which is exactly what I wanted. Thanks for keeping me upbeat. I’ll post pics when I get them (thanks Christina!).
On another note my trip to Ann Arbor was today. After meeting with Dr. Merajver I have decided it would be best for me to have a double mastectomy. We discussed the high rate of reoccurrence in Inflammatory Breast Cancer and that we wouldn’t want to regret not doing everything we can to keep it from coming back. And if it does reoccur she said it likes to make itself at home and is harder to get rid of. And since it looks good so far I’m in agreement with her. She also wants me to consider more chemo after radiation. I’ll take one day at a time, but if that’s what I need to do to make sure it doesn’t come back I’ll do it.
I called Jeremy right away and he agreed he would feel better if we said goodbye to both. I told Dr. Merajver that my MIL and my mom and dad would be relieved too. They didn’t say a lot but I knew they weren’t fond of my decision to keep one.
Thankfully Dr. Kalinowski had planned an extra hour and a half for my surgery so they were able to make the change. I wonder if they deal with women like me often….as we freak about the whole situation. I wonder if women call and cancel at the last minute often?
So I’m scared, but I feel a great amount of peace. I figured there were three scenarios when I went over. The first being a mastectomy and a lumpectomy as planned, a double mastectomy or she would say great….no surgery….it looks like its gone! I desperately wanted the later but I had a feeling it would be the first. And I needed someone to be brutally honest with me. And maybe I really wanted her to tell me to get rid of them because I wasn’t strong enough to do it on my own.
I hear it’s not as bad as what you think it’s going to be so I pray that’s the truth. I’m going to keep busy tomorrow so as not to dwell on it too much.
My surgery starts at 7:30 am on the 30th and will last till noon or so. So if you think about it say a quick prayer for me, for Dr. Kalinowski and for Jeremy and my parents as they wait.

9 thoughts on “Double

  1. Christy D says:

    Jen,
    I haven’t been very good about writing frequently, but I have checked in and read your posts often. You are in my thoughts and prayers tomorrow!! Peace and grace to you.
    Christy Durrance

  2. Laurie Starr says:

    Jen, prayers are with you tonight as you prepare for tomorrow’s surgery. I will keep all of you in my thoughts. Can Jeremy get on tomorrow to let us all know how things went?

    Hugs,

    Laurie

  3. Beth Voigt says:

    I thought surgery was today, the 29th, and have been praying already. I will continue as you prepare for tomorrow. Love you, friend!
    Beth V.

  4. shell_newman says:

    Hi Jen-
    It was great meeting you this summer during our water aerobics at Somerset. I wanted to let you know that I will be praying for you tomorrow and to give you a link for some inspiration. The friend I mentioned, cancer survivor and author of Letters to Sydney (www.heatherjose.com), was also a patient of Dr. Mejaver. What a small world!

    Good luck tomorrow. Keep us posted when you are feeling up to it. God Bless – Michelle

  5. Lisa Upham says:

    Jen,
    Big hugs and lots of prayers coming at you from Illinois. I am sure the surgery will go smoothly and you will have a quick recovery. Please let us know how you are feeling as soon as you are up to it.
    : )
    Lisa U.

  6. Gina Wilson says:

    Jen,
    We are praying for you! You are covered with love and prayers!
    All our love,
    Gina and the gang

  7. Jeremy says:

    Jen,
    You are stronger than you know and just by going to Ann Arbor for the second opinion shows it. It is also about surrounding yourself with people who are willing to help you figure out the best road that make me admire you all the more. I love you and look forward to seeing you when you get out of surgery later.
    Yours alone.

  8. Deb Kloosterman says:

    What a Beautiful and Heartwarming post Jeremy….Your Love shines thru so so so Brightly….

    We continue to pray for Jen and a smooth recovery…. you too, and children, and family/extended are in our daily thoughts and prayers…..sending gentle hugs and healing energy….love, Deb and Chris

  9. Deb Kloosterman says:

    Ooops, now how did that happen? maybe because kids had a squabble when I was posting…but my recent post obviously goes under the Surgery Day post!….ahhh technology!

Leave a Reply

