Clergygirl Cancer Counsel #4


Food for Thought:

You are what you eat.  Not totally, but almost.  Cancer can happen to anyone.  You are not immune.  There are some totally fit, amazingly healthy people out there who have had or currently have cancer.  1 out of 3 people will get cancer in the US in their lifetime.  So to say that eating and staying fit is the answer is probably not the case, but I certainly think it helps.  I want to think my cancer was completely gone after chemo not just because of chemo but because I ate healthy and did other naturopathic options along the way.

Let me introduce you to a word if you don’t know it:  Nutraceuticals

It’s basically the use of foods to keep from cancer and fight cancer, as well as other health issues. 

I’m not a raw foodie yet, but I’m getting closer every day.  The best nutraceuticals of course fruits and vegetables.  All of them have benefits but certain ones are extra beneficial.  Like the cabbage family.  I have something from the cabbage family every day.  This includes broccoli, kale, cauliflower, and the best of the best: brussel sprouts. 

In the book: Foods to Fight Cancer  they discuss a study that involved looking at people who had died….not of cancer….but of other natural causes and they found that some people have cancer and don’t even know it!  The way they had eaten had effected the blood supply to the tumor.  The tumor could not thrive because it didn’t have an adequate blood supply.

So for all my friends who don’t like fruits and vegetables….let me share some ideas that I use on my children.  EAT THEM OR YOU DON”T GET DESSERT!  No really.  We do say that but I also sneak.  There’s a book out there that is called the Sneaky Chef that maybe you should buy so you and your children can put vegetables into your diet. 

Here’s some sneaky things I do:

Shakes:  We have replaced ice cream with shakes.  Now I do sometimes put a scoop in the shake to make it creamier…..but this is a lot less than 2-3 scoops in a bowl!  Considering we divide the blender full between the 5 of us.  I also throw in plain or vanilla yogurt sometimes.  Whatever fruit I have around.  Peanut butter, chocolate syrup, be creative.  And I sweeten with honey or real maple syrup…and even natural sugar sometimes.  The ticket is tasting it FIRST before adding more sweetness.  Some of the things I’ve listed will add plenty of sweetness.  Now here’s what’s hidden inside:  A small handful of spinach, a few pieces of broccoli, a few leaves of kale.  I’m not kidding you!  They don’t know and they can’t tell!  A dessert and nutraceuticals all at the same time!  Can’t beat that!

Now if you’re really daring…..here is a “green smoothie” recipe.  They are so easy.  No cream…..just some water, ice if you like it cold, a handful of leafy greens and fruit of your choice.  Yum….truly….don’t believe me try it!  It might be green but it is very refreshing….and loaded with good things for your body!

I also put a scoop of tomato sauce in the blender with zucchini, carrots or whatever vegi might work and spin it up so my kids don’t know “green peppers” are in the sauce.  Since they will pick them out if they see them.

And one more thing…..I try to always put a tray of a few vegetables out for the kids before dinner with dip.  Then they fill up on vegi’s before dinner.  And quite often I choose one they like and one they don’t as much or one they’ve never tried so they get used to it.

So my counsel here is that your mama was right about eating your fruits and vegetables and if you’re lacking it may catch up to you.  At least if you do get cancer you’ll be healthy enough for the battle.

3 thoughts on “Clergygirl Cancer Counsel #4

  1. Amy says:

    Yup, I agree.

    Tonight I offered Nick a virgin Lemondrop martini made with diet lemon lime soda. I normally don’t have pop, but got that for the kids for a special drink, just for fun. Know what he said?! “I don’t drink carbonated beverages. Bad for you.”

    LOL! I have created a super healthy high schooler… the kid eats salads on vacation if we stop at fast food places. He eats a LOT– he’s in cross country– but mostly really healthy stuff! Pretty fun to see that develop.

    But once in awhile I will have a carbonated beverage, haha! 😛 And we do eat a LOT of broccoli, but I told you why I have trouble with brussel sprouts (grandma’s that she grew had gnats in between EVERY leaf as you peeled it… ugh!)

    Viva la veggies! And fruits!

  2. Deb Kloosterman says:

    Wonderful Jen! my 2 year son eagerly makes green smoothies with me….I peel the bananas {3-4}…he breaks them and puts them in the blender. I rinse the spinach {2-3 handfuls}, and he puts it in. If I have other fruit such as pineapple; fresh or frozen…or apple or peach or orange etc. He adds that too. He then puts the top on and blends away! This serves us both! His older brothers love the same made with frozen banana and the rest of the ingredients….! We teach ‘Green is Good’!!! I would love to meet with you to share ideas…love, Deb

  3. Deb Kloosterman says:

    …Oh!…we aslo add water and sometimes a dash of cinnamon before blending! 🙂

Leave a Reply

