Me….Giving Thanks


This is my Thanksgiving post.  I have so much to be thankful for this year and so much to reflect on.  It was this time last year I was chatting with other nursing moms saying…..”I’ve had a plugged duct for several weeks now…..”  I cringe when I realize how ironic it was that I was nursing at the same time I had Inflammatory Breast Cancer.  How the symptoms are so similar.  How crazy rare it all is and why it happened to me.  But mostly I am reflecting the beauty of this past year and how thankful I am for so much.  Through this experience I have lost some of my innocence….but I have gained a more tender heart.  It’s a good trade off. 

So here’s my top 10 list of Thanksgiving 2008…..

1.  Jesus….who drew me close to him.  I felt His presence throughout this illness.

2.  Jeremy….who takes everything in stride and never let me talk like I might not make it.

3.  My kiddos.  Their energy gives me energy.  Their love and grace carries me through.

4.  The ladies who went ahead of me and showed me it could be done…..and you could live to tell about it.  Like Kristen and Mary and all the bloggers I found within days of my diagnosis. 

5.  My mom and Jeremy’s mom who came for days at a time to care for me and my family.   And my parents who somehow instilled resiliance in their daughter.  I am forever grateful for that.

6.  My sister, extended family and close friends who sent lots of love across the miles.  Gift cards, knitted hats, a ring of hope.  What a blessing.

7.  My doctors at the cancer center.  They were my dream team…..and are all really cool ladies I might add.  What an inspiration you were!

8.  Dr. Alfaraz….we miss you terribly here in Kalamazoo.  We hope you’re doing OK.  I feel so blessed that you were here to care for me and my family.  I am so thankful you treated me holistically and gave me more than just the traditional route.  It made me feel like I was doing everything I could to get better.   We miss you.

9.  My church family who prayed for us and brought us meals. 

10.  For the cards and words of hope from so many people.  I have a huge basket full of cards.  Your daily reminders to stay strong was a constant source of encouragement.

Happy Thanksgiving.  Cherish the warmth of your family today.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

