Diet, Exercise and Reccurence


Since reading in Cure Magazine last summer that exercise at least three times a week reduces the risk of breast cancer recurrence I have been obsessed with exercising daily.  I’m trying not to feel too guilty when I don’t…..cause I figure that’s stress I don’t need (and who knows if stress causes cancer….lol).  I couldn’t find the exact article for you, but here’s one that’s pretty close

So last night, after dinner, I still hadn’t gotten my exercise in…..so I went skating.  OK….not really skating….it was actually supposed to be a walk.  But it was freezing rain while I was out….that mixed with dropping temperatures made it quite interesting.  Simply trying to stay upright made me quite sore….so by the time I got home I was exhausted.  

Exercise and eating right seems pretty important to staying away from cancer.  Sometimes I get in a funk.  Like today…..does salsa on mac and cheese count as a vegetable?  It’s tough to do the right thing everyday when you’re a busy mom.  But it’s pretty important so I need to stay on top of it.

I’ve discovered a few ways to exercise with my kids.  I’ve started taking them to the school park nearby and letting them play while I walk laps around the park.  I think one lap is about a 1/4 of a mile.  Some days I run, but it’s been so snowy I think I’ll break a leg if I run.

I also read an article about exercising at the playground.  Since my surgery I have needed to stretch daily, so I usually take the opportunity at the playground.   Here’s a good article with some pictures.  If you’ve had mastectomies like me….you want to stretch everyday so be creative with your upper body.  Sometimes I just hang from a monkey bar.  I’ll never be able to do a pull-up…..not that I ever could before….lol!

I’m off to grab a clementine….

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Diet, Exercise and Reccurence

  1. Kristen M. says:

    I have been in a funk with exercise too. I feel inspired after reading your passage.

  2. thanks for sharing this very interesting post

Leave a Reply

