Recontruction Date Set!


Well….it would seem I am a good candidate for the DIEP flap.  My consultation went well with Dr. Dumanian.  My surgery date is set for April 9th.  I have tons of questions but I couldn’t think of a single thing to ask when we were there…..um….it’s a good idea to write these things down….lol!  Most of my questions are shallow…..like….can you contour my shape and is there a laser surgery available to make the coloring of my belly skin match my chest skin.  You would think I would be happy with simply having a tummy tuck and breasts but there’s a part of me that wants to wake up with the originals…and that just isn’t going to happen.

I’m feeling a bit like I hit 36 and started falling a part.  Today I was eating nuts and my tooth broke.  I found a dentist who would see me….at 4:30 this afternoon.  He graciously gave me a root canal and a new tooth and I didn’t get out of there till 7 pm on a Friday evening!  The funny thing is….his brother was the eye doctor I saw when I had that temporary blindness back in November after chemo.   I jokingly told him he and his brother have really helped me out of some tough situations!  I really was grateful he stayed late for me and I’m glad I don’t have to go through the weekend with my tooth half gone!

2 thoughts on “Recontruction Date Set!

  1. Becky says:

    I will be eager to hear how your surgery goes. I am scheduled for the DIEP in June!

  2. Kristen M. says:

    Hey- Long time no see!!! I’m sooo thrilled for you about the surgery! WOW! April 9th is going to come up quickly! I’m so glad that you’re a good candidate for the surgery. It is exciting to have breasts again. Mine are getting bigger by the week. The one that had radiation is hard as a rock though, but Dr. Nave seems to think that with the silicone implant it will be softer. They certainly aren’t perfect, but they look pretty good. I get them filled every week and I’m a bit sore, but then I’m OK. They are just expanding at this point, so it will be exciting when they do phase 2 of the surgery after the expansion is done. At that point he will contour and polish them up so to speak.

    I’d love to join you for the yoga! Sounds wonderful. What time do you go? My husband is moving to PA this weekend to start his new job. The kids and I will be here until the house sells.

    Work and keeping the house clean has been keeping me busy. Let’s catch up soon.

    Kristen

    PS. I was truly touched by your one passage about running into the woman at Meijer. You are so caring and wonderful. I think one of our jobs as survivors is to help inspire and be there for women who are going through cancer. I’m trying to do the same for my cousin’s sister-in-law who just had a mastectomy in Nevada. We’ve been emailing each other and she’s been asking me a lot of questions about living through breast cancer. I love to correspond with her- it is saddening, yet therapeutic for me.

Leave a Reply

