Mother’s Day


It’s mothers day and it’s good to be here.  I hate to be dramatic but there was a time I wondered how long I would be able to be mom to my kiddos.  I suppose when they tell you  that you have a rare form of breast cancer that took the lives of 90% of women only 10 years ago, and they stage you at 4 before moving you back to 3, well, it just doesn’t bode well for your outlook.  I was thinking about that this week when I ran into one of the nurses who I met at my first visit to the chemo center.  She was the one who went through all the details of chemo with me and let me know what to expect.  As we sat in the waiting room we reminisced about that initial visit.  We both were teary eyed at that visit.  She’s a mom of 4 and is expecting another little one.  We are the same age.  I knew she was hurting with me back then. 

But this time when we were together we laughed and cried happy tears.  Amazed at what has transpired over the course of 16 months.  She is celebrating today with her kids and I am celebrating with mine.   This morning I got breakfast in bed.  They brought me my favorite orange rolls and coffee.  And I got gift certificates tucked inside homemade heart-shaped cards from Starbucks, Cold Stone and Barnes and Noble.  Hmmmm…..I guess my husband does know what I like…..coffee, ice cream and a good book….lol!

I hope you are cherishing your children today, and delighting in all their little mother’s day creations.

Tagged ,

One thought on “Mother’s Day

  1. Spruce Hill says:

    It sounds like you had a wonderful day! I was thinking all day how glad I was to spend the day with my kids 🙂

Leave a Reply

