Healing


Yesterday I drove to Chicago for my visit with the plastic surgeon.  My friend Mary came with me.  It made the trip much more enjoyable.  I’m glad she was with me because the doctor did a little picking and it freaked me out a bit.  I had this big scab on the inside of my right transplant.  He keeps reminding me this is the result of not taking muscle from my belly.  So he announces “we’re going to take it off.”  So I say….”you’re going to do what you’re not supposed to do and pick a scab!”  I guess I hoped he would hear my expert opinion and leave it alone but he continued to get his utensils gathered up….and before I could ask “is it going to hurt,” or scream for that matter he had ripped it off.  Why do surgeons do everything so dang fast!  Don’t they know I need time to PROCESS what it about to happen! 

Anyway.  I decided not to look and I knew the visual would be pretty bad.  I announced when I was going to look and then I looked.  Then I told him how absolutely disgusting the big hole was in my chest and I announced to him, “I’m sorry, but I’m going to cry now.”  Choking back tears and trying not to pass out because of the one inch gaping hole in my inner chest I asked him what he was going to do with it.  Well, he says it’s going to heal all on it’s own.  I’m questioning that, but all I can do is wait and see.  I suppose if it doesn’t look good he’ll clean it up.  He said he would a while back so I hope that’s his plan because right now, it’s pretty darn gross!

On the positive side, my dear friend Mary (who has had the similar tram flap) reminded me that some people’ s entire breast transplant doesn’t take and can you imagine that with your whole breast?  She’s right.  It doesn’t seem that bad I guess.  And she kept me busy chatting on the way home so I didn’t have to think about the cavern in my chest. 

Dr. D also said I was the winner of the least seen patient after a DIEP flap surgery.  Meaning…..I’m healing extremely well and have been a low maintenance patient.  That makes me feel better.  He did scold me for trying to run already.  So I guess I need to hold off a few more weeks.  He said three months, but I’m thinking three weeks and it will be OK:)

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Healing

  1. Thank you so much for blogging in detail your experience with the DIEP. I was dx’d at age 38 in Feb 07, Her2- ER+, Lumpectomy, 34/37 nodes positive, Stage 3C. Did 8 rounds chemo and 35 rads. After too many biopsies for my mental comfort, I am having a prophylactic bilateral mastectomy in June with the DIEP for recon of the cancer side, and hopefully some of the non-cancer side as well, with an implant (maybe – still in discussion with my ps). I am at Northwestern as well, but Dr. Fine is my surgeon. I have some additional questions for you if you have the time, could you email me? I would greatly appreciate it – thank you again!

Leave a Reply

