Clergygirl Cancer Councel: “Save the Skin”


My skin has taken quite an assault through this breast cancer journey.  First I had glowing clear skin through chemo.  I’m not really sure why that was, but for me it must have killed everything including blackheads. 

Then it was the port and my mastectomies.  My first scar lines. 

Then it was radiation.  My radiated area wasn’t just a 4 inch by 4 inch area.  Because it was inflammatory breast cancer and it was in both sides they radiated my chest, back and my neck up to my chin. 

Most recently my skin has taken a beating in my reconstruction.  I have the tummy tuck scar and scars around each breast.  And as far as I’m concerned, I don’t want to spend $15 on a bottle of scar gel from the drugstore when it will only last me a few days.  Seriously, I have that much scaring to deal with. 

I don’t admit to being an expert in skin healing but all of my doctor’s have been amazed at how quickly my scars have healed and how well I fared in radiation. I guess when you radiate that large of an area on both sides they don’t have much hope that you’re not going to blister and bubble.  And guess what…..my skin never broke.  I got red, very red, but my skin stayed clear.  So I’m going to share a few things I have used and am still using as I recover from the reconstruction.     

aloe

Aloe.

Everyone likes aloe for burn relief.  I went for the purest aloe I could find.  I love putting aloe on in the morning because it absorbs quickly and I can get dressed without feeling like my clothes are getting all gooey.  

 

turmeric1

Turmeric.

You can find a link in the main page sidebar for the use of turmeric during radiation.  Not only is turmeric thought to fight tumors, but it’s good for the skin.  I took capsule form throughout my radiation and started taking it again through my reconstruction for wound healing.

 

nature_bounty_natural_vitamin_e_oil_2_5oz_reviews_91706_raw

Vitamin E.

Overall well known for scar healing.  I lather this on at night before bed.  It’s also great as massage oil for working to loosen the scar once it has healed.

 

ComfryCompSlve

Comfrey.

I know….comfrey?  If it’s spring where you are, comfrey is starting to emerge from it’s winter slumber.  Since being diagnosed with cancer I have dabbled in herbal healing.  A friend teaches classes near me and made me a wonderful comfrey infused olive oil after my mastectomies.  I used every last drop.   I found a comfrey-aloe salve later and have used that most recently.  You really can make your own if you want, all you need is comfrey leaves, roots and olive oil!

 

 

GrapeSeed

Grape Seed Oil.

This is probably my favorite of all of them.  I have a blend of grape seed and vitamin e oil and I use it religiously before bed, and after my shower.  There is lots of research that says grape seed oil protects from skin cancer and aids healing.

Updated:  I’ve added another great skin moisturizer I use here.

Tagged , ,

10 thoughts on “Clergygirl Cancer Councel: “Save the Skin”

  1. Kristen M. says:

    Thanks for all the great tips. I have phase 2 of my breast reconstruction next Wednesday. I know that I’ll need some extra help with the healing part and will have to be more diligent once the doctor is through cutting me.

    Can’t wait for softer more rounded boobs! Wish me luck!

    Kristen

  2. dphealthcareconsulting says:

    Jennifer, I quoted you in my latest post – http://beingcancer.net/2009/05/18/mothers-day-cancer-medley/
    Dennis

  3. Renee Khan says:

    With my radiation I never used any of these and my skin totally burnt and blistered and looked like open sores. So maybe your things you tried did help.

    I am glad you were moved back to stage 3 and not 4. I am just reading some comments on the mother’s day blog from ‘being cancer’.

    Take care of yourself.

    Renee xoxox

  4. Sarah says:

    Hi I think this is a fantastic blog, keep up the good work…

  5. […] after I posted the “save the skin” post I realized I hadn’t included my very favorite moisturizer that I used regularly […]

  6. […] drug – turmeric for skin and respiratory allergy – pediatric care. By jannihebbar Turmeric is regularly used in Indian household to tackle the problem of respiratory allergy. best way of […]

  7. Mary Cryderman says:

    I am really happy you are done waiting. I hated waiting. Glad for the great news. Thank you Lord. Mary

  8. This emollient-rich natural minerals and vitamins. It is also rich in polyphenols, which are presented as a powerful antioxidant. oil grape seed has anti-inflammatory effective in preventing acne. It has a high content of linoleic acid which makes your cell membrane of the skin in good condition. It is a wonderful skin emollient, especially when combined with vitamin C.

  9. Ayla says:

    If you are looking for some top quality essencial oil with an assortment of categorizes, you can email aylawee2008@live.cn. You will be finely satisfied with the goods you see.

Leave a Reply

