Roller Coaster


Today I had my three month appointment with my oncologist.  Before I saw her I had my lab work done.  We had a great visit.  Everything looked great, but as we were finishing up, she pulled up my labs.  My platelets are surprisingly low.  Like 23,000 low.  Normal platelets are in the 150,000 range.  Under 20,000 there’s something wrong.  There are a lot of things this could be.  Not all of them bad.  At first, I was fine with it.  I’ve had low platelets before.  But then I drove home.  And then I started thinking about how it could be an indication the cancer is back.  And I freaked.  This is where cancer really wears me out emotionally.  I finally went outside to the garage so my kids wouldn’t see me cry.  After that I emailed my oncologist and let he know I wanted to re-check them again tomorrow, instead of waiting till next week.  She emailed me back that they think it was a false reading.  I can’t explain this, but it has happened before to me.  It has something to do with the viles that they take the blood in and they have to do a smear and check it in a different way.  So she wants me to come back in tomorrow for a new count. 

I’m releived she thinks its a false count but tired of this emotional roller coaster I’ve been on this week.  We are headed up to Muskegon to camp for the weekend and I’m going to feel so much better if I find out my platelets are not really as low as they appeared.  Of course, I’ll keep you posted:)

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “Roller Coaster

  1. throwslikeagirl74 says:

    Stupid platelets. Hugs.

  2. Kristen M. says:

    Dr. Liepman really knows what she’s doing. You’re in good hands. I hope you’re having fun this weekend.

  3. Hope it is just a fluke! Good luck with your re-test!

Leave a Reply

