Freak’in Hang Nail!


I know there’s a song out there that says “rainy days on Mondays always get me down,”  I need a song that includes “grey, cold, rainy days, in early July with fears of lymphedema and big surgical wounds that won’t heal.”  Is there something out there like that.  Ignore me, I’m having a down day.

I may need a little advice.  So you ladies who have had lymph nodes removed from your arms speak up.  Last week I did the unspeakable for someone with lymph nodes removed.  I chewed on a hang nail and ultimately ripped it off.  It hurt really bad when I did it.  I remember thinking “why the heck did I just do that.”  But it still didn’t occur to me that it wasn’t a good idea in light of my missing lymph system.  So here I am five days later and my finger is hot, red and swollen.  It also hurts.  A lot.  I finally put some neosporin on it yesterday when I noticed it was getting this way.  It also dawned on me that this was probably not a good thing considering my medical history.

So I’ve been tooling around the internet and of course I’ve gotten myself worried.  Here’s an article that says seek medical attention now.  And here’s a lovely little story about how a hang nail turned into cellulitis

I do not feel achy.  My arm is not swollen.  I see no red streaks yet.  Oh, but I’m a watch’in. 

That, and which freak’in doctor do I call?  My oncologist?  My surgeon?  My new family doctor?  I can see it now…..”um, yes, I have a hang nail I’d like you to look at.”  Yea right, they’ll be get’in me right in.  I don’t have much hope in receptionists these days. 

Has anyone had experience with this and do you have any advice for me?

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “Freak’in Hang Nail!

  1. throwslikeagirl74 says:

    Keep on with the neosporin. and keep it clean. 🙂 When I cut my hand on the nodeless arm, my family doc ordered an antibiotic just as a precautionary measure. And I still forget not to do the hangnail thing myself. And I have to wear sleeve. You’d think that’d be a big honkin’ reminder. 🙂

  2. Becky says:

    I am reading this a few days late, and am hoping that it is much better now, but in the words of my surgeon (who has also become my good friend!) “stay away from the internet!!!” There is so much scary stuff on there! Personally, I would probably call my surgeon and not just because she is my friend, but because she is the one who refers me to the physical therapist and monitors me for lymphedema related issues. Good luck!
    By the way, I have been following your blog for a while, I am a young breast cancer survivor as well and just had the DIEP on June 4.

Leave a Reply

