Hangnail Drama Queen


I do feel a bit like a drama queen.  Thanks to all who graciously sent words of encouragement through my freak-out episode with the hangnail.  I’m happy to report it is much better.  Here’s what happened.  I emailed my oncologist.  We emailed back and forth and I sent her a picture.  (Gotta love technology).  She said if it got worse over the weekend to call her immediately.  But she wanted me to soak it in warm water with epson salt several times a day.  Well, we were busy through the fourth of July weekend and I really didn’t want to call and bother her, but the nail bed started turning green.  Gross huh.  Green.  My friend Mary was like…..Jen…what’s up with you and infections….lol!  So I decided on Monday I would call and go in.  BUT, on Sunday night when we were over at a friends house, the blister or whatever was under the skin must have burst on it’s own and all this yucky stuff oozed out.  Lovely….are you sufficiently grossed now.  Anyway….since there was an opening I could then soak it in hydrogen peroxide.  SoI did that several times last night and put neosporin over it and this morning it looks much better and feels much better.  The swelling and heat is gone and most of the redness too.

Tagged ,

One thought on “Hangnail Drama Queen

  1. Amy says:

    Weird, I must have had a sympathy hangnail on my toe last week… it was hurting and when I finally got around to looking at it there was a little infected blister, which once open cleared up good before the 10K. But I think I got it from the last time I trimmed my toenails… must have nicked it a bit or something. I thought it was a pebble in my shoe for two days straight, when I was running!

Leave a Reply

