The thoughts that didn’t make it to facebook…..


Here are all the thoughts I have today that I could post on facebook but haven’t (aren’t you glad):

1.  What sort of magnetism does Dora have over a 2 year old?  My son would watch Dora movies and read Dora books 24/7 if I would let him.

2.  Fried Zucchini, zucchini muffins, vegi-enchiladas with guess what…..zucchini, copy-cat olive garden minestrone soup….with zucchini.  What’s next….chocolate cake with zucchini?  Would something else PLEASE ripen in my garden!

3.  Charis is gone to camp this week and I have forgotten how AMAZINGLY quiet it is with only two children.  Only half the fighting.  It’s been a nice break (even though I miss her!).

4.  What is it about feeling a little under the weather that makes me “smell” chemo.  Is that weird or what?  I have smelled chemo several times today.  Like the Kashi bars I opened for my kids this morning…..I got a huge whiff of chemo…..because that’s all they ate for breakfast when I was sick after chemo I guess.  And then when we walked to the park.  I swear the park smelled like chemo.  I suppose this is like the first trimester of pregnancy.  There are things we will never eat again thanks to pregnancy nausea.  I don’t like the “smell” of chemo.  Brings back too many bad memories.

Tagged ,

One thought on “The thoughts that didn’t make it to facebook…..

  1. Beth A says:

    Nice post. I have been checking in on you ever since you introduced yourself to me at Van Buren State Park at the end of June. We were at the beach watching our kids swim. While I was doing chemo I would eat cottage inn grilled chicken salads. A few weeks ago my kids wanted pizza so I thought I would have the salad while they ate pizza. (I can’t have gluten. That is a whole other story) Anyway, while it was in my car on the way home I started to get that sick feeling and couldn’t figure out why because I had been fine. Well, when I opened the salad and got a full smell I almost lost it. It brought back every chemo smell and memory. Needless to say, no more cottage inn grilled chicken salads for me. Great to read your posts. It is nice to keep up with someone who has lived with cancer and is willing to speak openly. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

