One Year Post-Mastectomy


A lot can happen in a year.  Hard to believe that a year ago today I was recovering from a double mastectomy.  It seems so long ago!  Yet here I am, one year later and I just got back from running two miles and have a tummy tuck and a whole new set of breasts.   It actually occurred to me when I was out running that today was the day last year.  

Someone recently told me that it takes a lot longer for them to put them back on than it is for them to take them off.  And I have resigned myself to this truth.  There will probably be several more surgeries over the next year to put the nana’s back together.  None of them as big as the initial of course, but surgeries none-the-less. 

But I am happy today on the anniversary of my mastectomies that I can run, and am physically healthy.   I suppose if you are facing mastectomies, or you are dealing with the numbness, lack of movement and overall physical and emotional nightmare of having just gone through a mastectomy, hearing me talk about running and moving around might give you hope.  I sincerely hope it does.  A lot of the numbness doesn’t go away.  I have numbness on the back of my arm and from my pelvis to my breasts, but it isn’t as bad as it was and it is getting better.  And I have complete range of motion in my arms now.   I still miss my breasts.  I miss them every day.  But I am moving on and I am adjusting.

Oh, and it’s my MIL’s birthday, so happy birthday Kim, who always thanks Jesus for me and prays for my healing and loves me even when I don’t deserve it.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

