Progression of a Post-Surgical Wound


 I just can’t bring myself to show you the first picture I sent to my surgeon.  Seriously, it really has to be one of the grossest visuals I’ve ever seen.  I really can’t believe it was actually on me.  Imagine the bottom picture with a ton more of the yellowish snotty stuff in it. 

I’ve put them in reverse order, so you get the best to worst.  

 August 2009 063

 August 21, 2009.  More than 4 months after surgery, digger is finally closed, leaving me with a small indentation.  It is truly amazing to see the way the body heals itself.  BTW, this scaring is a little worse than the rest but it’s basically what I have all the way around my breasts.  And the ripples are the lovely stretch marks that were on my belly from pregnancy. 

August 2009 060

 August 10, 2009.  An itty bitty hole.  Nothing like what it started out as!

 DSC00828

July 2, 2009.  What an amazingly healthy pink wound:)  I am now starting to believe it will heal!

DSC00620

June 8, 2009.  Dr. D slices me open a bit more to let digger drain.  Lovely huh! 

DSC00566

May 28, 2009.  Not at it’s worst, but as close as I can get and not feel bad I have damaged you in some way from seeing this…..lol!  I’m pretty sure this was after the first debridement.  You can see the yellow and white stuff.  It was full of yellow and white stuff prior to this pic.

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “Progression of a Post-Surgical Wound

  1. Becky says:

    I don’t know what I imagined, but wow!! I would have been stressing too! I am so thankful that digger is finally closed. Thanks for sharing your pics with us!

  2. Kerri says:

    Wow, we saw it pretty much closed, it is amazing to see what it looked like back in the crater days! I am glad you posted to give a reference point. That was seriously large and deep.

  3. Kristen M. says:

    It makes me cry seeing what you had to go through to reconstruct your breasts. You are certainly a braver woman that me. Those early shots certainly were gruesome….I know I would have been flipping out. I am so glad that you are healing… and yes it is amazing how the body heals itself. You, my friend, are a true warrior.

Leave a Reply

