Look at Them There Owls!


We were out running errands today and Charis spotted Hooters Restaurant. We have never eaten there so when she announced “there’s Hooter’s” I was interested in what she might say. She seemed like she was in the “know” with Hooters and I thought to myself….just what DOES she know about hooters anyway!

I was relieved when she explained with all knowingness to her sister that Hooters was in fact a restaurant all about owls. I breathed a bit easier after she made her announcement.

When I head to the mall I find myself hoping the girls will look away when we walk by Guess or Victoria Secrets. I’m not a prude, I just don’t want them to think it’s only about the boobs and sexuality.

And who am I kidding….just today I was checking out of the grocery store and there was Jennifer Aniston in a black leather number looking thin, busty and perfect and I found myself sucking in and standing a bit straighter. Like I can even begin to compete with that.

But we try. And I’m trying to come to terms with this whole field of plastic surgery and how I really feel about reconstruction and implants. I’m certainly happy it’s all available but I don’t want to feed in to this myth that women have to be perfect or that our self worth is somehow tied in with our breasts. I think I have a secret loathing for implants and what they represent. (But on the flipside am so happy they are available to us). Our attempt for perfection. Our unwillingness to be content and acceptance in who we really are. Our willingness to let the world and others define our sexuality.

If you’ve been following me for any length of time you know I don’t come to my decisions easily….lol. So once again you’ll get to hear my ramblings. My attempt to come to terms with the next step in this process of healing and wholeness.

And the only thing I can say with certainty is that I will never work in a place “just for owls!”

Tagged ,

One thought on “Look at Them There Owls!

  1. Hubby says:

    I’d take you over Aniston any day.

Leave a Reply

