What did you say?


The neighbor girl came down this morning while I was in the shower.  As I opened the bathroom door, my 5 year old yelled “don’t show Nellie your boobie!”  Now, sensitive that I am, I felt a bit sad for a second, because although I wouldn’t go prancing out to show the neighbor girl my reconstructed breast, it did make me sad that my daughter was so embarrassed by my new breasts that she would yell that quickly to remain out of sight, so as not to be embarrassed by me.  Sigh…..

But then I realized that “boobie” is not a term we use in our home usually.  So I yelled down the hall.  Did you say “bootie” or “boobie?”  She yelled back “don’t show Nellie your butt!” 

Ohhhhh.  What a relief. 

I’m still waiting for the day my daughters are repulsed by my breasts…..but you know, it hasn’t happened yet.  They may surprise me.

Tagged

2 thoughts on “What did you say?

  1. Karin says:

    I bet that day will never come, Jen. You have been open and honest with them through out this whole cancer/reconstruction journey. So, I don’t think repulsion is likely. 🙂

  2. Kim says:

    I doubt that day will ever come Jen, because your children love you. When they look at you they will always see their mother and your breasts will simply be a part of you no matter what they look like. In reality as children grow older they seem to prefer to not think about certain parts of their parents bodies.(LOL) Your breasts will simply be a part of the mom they love.

Leave a Reply

