“I Love You Mama.”


Yesterday I was cuddling with Elijah before his nap.  I got in to bed and snuggled up to him and he snuggled back, wrapping his little arms around my neck and putting his little face right at mine.  I said “I love you Elijah,”  and he said “I love you mama” right back to me.  I can’t even tell you how much I love this….when my children start doing that.  I don’t think it occurs to them to reciprocate this saying until a certain age, but when they do, it takes your breath away.  It just makes me want to cry with happiness.  That they would, of their own free will, tell me that they love me.  It just boggles my mind.  But it is so fulfilling.

It also get’s me thinking about how often as a child of God I forget to reciprocate God’s love.  I’m like a child waiting for Christmas “gimme this,” and “gimme that.”  Quick to offer up my prayer requests and wants, but not so quick to offer my affection to Him.  I’m pretty sure God doesn’t get as frustrated with me as I get with my kids when they are constantly “wanting” something more from me.  But I wonder if we take His breath away, so to speak, if He stops in His tracks, or a tear comes to His eyes when we slow down, enough, to actually adore, and love our creator, our heavenly parent, the one who loves us beyond compare or imagination?

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

