A Question?


So I’m preaching in a few weeks, the 27th to be exact, at my church.  My topic is going to be something along the lines of “Moving past painful/hurtful experiences.”  I’m going to be sharing some of my own cancer journey and some ideas I have about moving on with your life after cancer…..as it hasn’t always been easy….and in many ways I’m in the midst of it! 

And I’m curious to hear from you.  You don’t have to have survived cancer.  You may have experienced a death in the family, a painful divorce or a health crisis.  Whatever.  There are, unfortunately many experiences that are painful and difficult to get through and move on from.

What has been a help to you as far as moving on from crisis or pain in your life?  I’d love to hear your thoughts and comments!  BTW….this doesn’t have to be only spiritual….it might be “I got a new job” or “I took time for myself.”  Whatever…..there is no right answer here!

Tagged , ,

4 thoughts on “A Question?

  1. Kaylee says:

    I find that I really have to police my thinking, otherwise I imagine all sorts of horrible scenarios of recurrance.
    I also have chosen not to “associate” too closely with cancer (LOL – apart from reading blogs – perhaps I’d better stop that too) By that I mean, for example, that I chose not to attend the local “Relay for Life”, though I felt inclined to organise a team and join in for a really good cause, because I wanted to stop living and breathing cancer. I may join in with the relay in a year of three – once I’ve “gotten over” the stress of it all a bit more.
    I also have chosen not to use cancer as a “playing card”: Refering to one’s cancer can be a strongly manipulative and emotive means of getting one’s way.
    All the best with your preaching. I’ve enjoyed following your blog this year.

  2. Becky says:

    Honestly, for me, something that sustained me when I was going through treatment and diagnosis and that continues to sustain me are the promises found in Ps. 103. Before I was diagnosed, I was doing a Bible study that encouraged us to write a list of what God does for us as detailed in Psalm 103 and to this day, I go back and reference this list: He heals all my diseases [I remind myself that the disease of sinfulness–the most deadly disease every–is completely healed through His son], He redeems my life from the pit, He satisfies my years with good things, He renews my strength, etc. It begins by saying Bless the Lord, oh my soul, and all that is within me bless his holy name…and forget none of his benefits” It has to be a conscious decision to not forget His benefits because it is SO easy to get caught up in playing the cancer “card” [and I do actually believe there is a card to be played there], and feeling sorry for yourself that you are going through this really horrible time, and so on and so forth, but when it boils down to it, God is good…just because I had cancer does not negate His goodness or His faithfulness. Moving on is definitely a process and realizing that isn’t always easy, b/c once you are done with treatment, it seems you should be “done”, but for me, the fight was just beginning in some ways. I do think that time and distance helps and just perspective and trust and always reminding myself of the good things God gives me, the important stuff…the eternal life!

  3. Kaylee says:

    Becky, your comment “just because I had cancer does not negate His goodness or His faithfulness” I aggree with so much. God is good all the time (as the saying goes) For this very reason, I have been a bit reluctant to publically praise God for my current “no evidence of disease” status, because doing so, seems to imply that if I wasn’t currently so well, that God is not good, or that if I have a recurrace that it means that God has stopped being good. Perhaps that’s something I need to think/pray through and get over, because I know that praising God publically is always a good thing to do.

  4. clergygirl says:

    I’m in aggreement ladies…..I am blessed because of His constant presence in my life and not because I am cancer free. Thanks so much for these great comments! I should ask you guys for comments more often:) I love the feedback!

Leave a Reply

