Water Park Adventure


Jeremy keeps bugging me about going to visit a fitness center outside of town. It seems they keep luring him to come visit with tickets for our family to the new water park adjacent to the club. This is a good way to entice my husband because if it involves amusement + rides + water, then he will figure out a way to get me there. I would be all about this equation if it weren’t for the fact that it was only 24 degrees outside and I’m cold all the time. I won’t thaw out till mid-April. Until then I prefer doing nothing with anything that will make me wet. I also refuse to shave my legs unless absolutely necessary, and, well, this would be one of those times.

But we have three children who will complain if we don’t go do something and it is January and more often than not, we have nothing to do, so when Jeremy got another call offering a tour and free water park passes, I knew I wasn’t going to get out of it.

So off to Pirates Island at S.W.A.T Fitness we went. We had a nice tour. Very low pressure. They even allowed us to leave without a committment. Here’s the plus for me: they have trainers on duty at all times, no extra charge and they don’t charge extra for classes. Which is nice since our old fitness center charged extra for classes. That and the cost is the same as what we were paying with free childcare. So I’m thinking about it. I’m trying very hard to be committed to exercise since this is my only weapon against cancer returning.

And I managed to make it through my water park experience. It was actually fun…and I did get wet. They kept the air at a balmy, comfortable temp. And whenever I got too cold I jumped in one of the hot tubs. It wasn’t overly crowded and there were plenty of slides for the little ones. 

In the Kalamazoo area, where there is virtually nothing to do from December to March other than go sledding, I was impressed. I think we’ll be back before the end of winter. And who knows, we just might join for the fitness center too.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

