30 Days of Girl Crush: Eve


Genesis 3:20 (The Message)  The Man, known as Adam, named his wife Eve because she was the mother of all the living.

Besides having a really cool name, there’s lot’s to love about Eve.  For one she is the first woman and the first mother.  My 5 year old daughter loves to throw out theological questions at me.  The other day she asked me “how did the first girl get born?”  My husband always just looks at me and says… “you’re the one that went to seminary!”  But it got me thinking about what it was like being the first woman.  Given that as a woman, I like nurturing and I like being nurtured, I like counting on other women and find value in friendships with other women.  So what was it like for Eve to be alone in her womanhood?  To be the mother of all humanity, but yet have no sisterhood?  What was it like giving birth all alone?  Who helped her learn to swaddle a baby or breastfeed?  When I look at Eve I see strength and determination.  Strong enough to be the first and determined enough to keep things together even out of the garden in a harsh and cruel world.

So how did Eve stay so strong.  I can picture myself standing at the gates of the Garden of Eden looking ahead at unknown territory and yet slowly looking back at what I’d lost.  It was like the ultimate game of survivor.  But she took a step, and a few more, away from the garden.  Maybe because she knew she was judged and not cursed forever like the serpent (Genesis 3:15).   She was banished from the garden, but not from God.  She was simply, or not so simply, living with consequences as hard as they were.

What consequences are you living with today?  Maybe they’re big, maybe they’re small?  Maybe they’re self induced or maybe they are completely out of your control.  Eve’s indiscretion was pretty major if you can find any comfort in that knowledge.  But how are you dealing with the consequences of your behavior?  Remember that you aren’t alone, you probably have a sisterhood of women who are there for friendship, comfort and accountability.  We have to face our choices, but unlike Eve, we don’t have to go it alone.

Prayer:  God, allow me to be a friend and receive friendship today.

Tagged , ,

4 thoughts on “30 Days of Girl Crush: Eve

  1. Jennifer says:

    Great post! I can tell I’m going to love this series. I never thought about Eve in this context but you’re exactly right. How hard it must have been for her to go it alone with no other woman to talk to about what she was going through. And the image of her standing at the edge of the garden as she was leaving is rather sad. It just make her more real to me.

  2. Kim Knight says:

    Really interesting, Jen. I’ve been thinking about the friendships I have with women a lot lately. Looking forward to your future posts!

  3. clergygirl says:

    Thanks you guys! I so appreciate the comments! Trying something new here:)

  4. Diane Karchner says:

    Could you imagine her feeling looking back into the GARDEN!!?? Great perspective on thinking about difference between judged and condemned/cursed.

Leave a Reply

