Fractured Rib


So I called my new doctor today about the chest x-ray I had last Friday. When he got on the phone I thought, well, he’s either super personal or somethings wrong. Here’s how the conversation went:

Dr. Little: “Well it shows you have a fractured rib…are you in pain?”

Me: “Um, I don’t think so.”

Dr. Little: “Really. When was your last bone scan?”

Me: “Diagnosis.”

Dr. Little: “Let’s go ahead and have another one done.”

Me: “Um, so there’s a fracture on my left rib?”

What I really wanted to say was “What in heaven’s name does that mean?” But I don’t think he knows. A bone scan will tell us more.

I emailed my oncologist and she got back with me this afternoon and said radiation often weakens bones. Probably just a fracture.

Jeremy thinks my marathon cold this winter with a bad cough resulted in me fracturing a rib.

So here’s the deal. I have noticed some pain on my left side but it’s up near where I’m always a little sore from radiation, so I would imagine that’s where it is.

I do remember having pain in my left side on Sunday a few times and thinking….”wouldn’t that be just like me to get appendicitis right before our vacation.”

But the pain hasn’t been long or consistent, so I haven’t thought about it much. I even ran a 3 mile race on Saturday!

We’re headed to North Carolina, and I refuse to let this rain on my parade. I do plan to have fun and not think about cancer (too much anyway).

I am really very optimistic that this is just from radiation and nothing more. I need to remember this is my life and I can’t ride every wave. So don’t worry for me. But do pray for me if you think about it. I like that very much.

Tagged

2 thoughts on “Fractured Rib

  1. throwslikeagirl74 says:

    You bet. 🙂

  2. Becky says:

    the marathon cold could have definitely been the culprit. I did that in college once pre-cancer (obviously)…
    have a GREAT trip!!! will definitely say some prayers for you!

Leave a Reply

