Bucket’s of Saturated Fat for the Cure


A few days ago I noticed a tweet that gave me a reason to pause and think.  It bothered me to say the least.  It reminded me of a game you play with your kids….what two things don’t go together.

See for yourself.  Can you pick out TWO things that should not go together?

If you said a breast cancer research foundation and fried chicken, you were right!  Here’s why…

Current research says that obesity is linked to cancer.   As much as I don’t like it, it just is.  We know estrogen is stored in fat and cancer grows on estrogen.  I’ve known plenty of thin people with cancer so this isn’t saying this is the ONLY way to get breast cancer, but it’s a sure link.  The more estrogen you have in your body in your life span, the higher your risk. 

Then there’s that recurrence risk.  Obesity is a clear risk for recurrence of many kinds of cancer, not just breast cancer.

So here I am, two years out from breast cancer, running 4-5 miles 4 times a week and trying to do yoga and weight lifting 1-2 times a week.  I eat as healthy as I possibly can.  I’ve never been super thin, in fact, I regret the weight gain that I allowed to sneak up on me during my pregnancy years.  I’ve got three kids under 9 and a life I want to live fully, so I watch the research and I try to do what I can to keep from recurrence.  It is very clear that a healthy diet and exercise are key. 

So I have to say as a breast cancer survivor, it was like a slap in the face, it was a blow to everything we work for as a breast cancer warriors to see the premiere breast cancer research foundation teaming up with the premiere fat-laden fast food restaurant (see announcement for double-down sandwich).   It just seems to me if I work hard to do the best I can do, Komen would consider the current research as well.  Ummm…..they are a “research foundation” now aren’t they?  Hmmmm.

This was a sell-out Komen.  Did you ask anyone with breast cancer how they would feel seeing that big pink greasy bucket of chicken?  Was someone going to lose their job if you didn’t raise cash quick?  I really don’t get it?  Research also shows smoking and alcohol consumption are clear links to cancer, so why not team up with Marlboro or Bud Beer?  It’s not just about money, and quite frankly, don’t raise money on the backs of research that is clearly linking to cancer promotion.  Please!

So I was excited to run in my local Race for the Cure coming up in April.  This is the first year I’ve been healthy enough to do it since my diagnosis in 2008.  But now I question my support of Komen. 

Now you know how I feel, how do YOU feel about it?

Tagged , ,

7 thoughts on “Bucket’s of Saturated Fat for the Cure

  1. Katie says:

    I completely agree! My son went through 2 bouts of bone cancer from age 7-12 (he’s grown and great now!) so this commercial was, like you said, “A slap in the face” to the idea of healthy living.

  2. Dawn T. says:

    I definitely took a double take! It was weird to see that ad. I have been trying to get better myself. I have obseity in my family, and my doctor suggested I try the South Beach Diet. So far in the month or so I have been on it, I have lost 11 pounds! For me this is a great start. I hope I can keep my motivation going and eating healthier and more aware of the unhealthy things I eat. Plus, having more energy to exercise and keep up with my boys. I want to see them walk down the isle someday! They are 4 1/2 and 3!

    Way to go for you Jen. I am proud of you for all that you are doing to keep your body gong! Hope to see you at SBC soon!

    • clergygirl says:

      Dawn! That is fabulous! I should read the SB diet too. I feel like I’ve hit a plateau and can’t lose. Maybe once I get outside more this summer….

  3. Karin says:

    I’m gonna go way out on a limb here, as a person who hasn’t had to battle cancer myself, and say this. If KFC wants to give money to help find a cure for breast cancer, let ’em! It’s funds that are needed, no matter the source. But what do I know? 😉

    • clergygirl says:

      Thanks so much for disagreeing Karin. I’ve decided I’m going to run. Still not happy in their choice if sponsors, but I think I can get over it. Hopefully most people chose the grilled chicken over the extra crispy….hehe:)

  4. If nothing else, this has certainly started people talking! I appreciate that more funds are going in for BC awareness, regardless of whether or not KFC’s motives are suspect. I signed a commentary letter to Komen (http://ow.ly/1BJ9O) and their response was that they were trying to reach a different population. KFC’s reply was that the Pink Buckets contain Grilled or Original Recipe, which are the lowest calorie items on the menu. OK – how about making sure that the grilled chicken is free of carcinogens?
    (http://www.pcrm.org/newsletter/jun09/carcinogen.html)

    And how about NOT contributing another life-threatening meal choice of the Double-Down – the same week as starting the Komen campaign??
    http://www.pcrm.org/health/prevmed/double_down.html

    This does not mean I no longer support Komen; their contribution to progress in breast cancer awareness and treatment is invaluable. This campaign could have been so much more effective and less controversial with a little more forethought.

  5. […] with breast cancer,   and then of course there are the things that are pinked that are just wrong or misguided bad […]

Leave a Reply

