Viva La Femme: Anne Jackson


What is about women’s ministries and tea?  Seriously.  Every time I turn around there’s another tea.  We drink tea at mother’s day gatherings, morning brunch, afternoon, and when missionaries are coming.  If I were a missionary I’d be tired of ladies tea’s.  Having to travel from church to church and tea to tea to raise support.  It’s probably not at all how it is, but it just seems like every time a missionary comes to town we have another tea.  Are we envious of the English and their tea?  That’s their tradition, not ours.  Seriously.  When I’m out and about, I don’t stop for tea and crumpets.   No, I stop for a Starbuck’s or Biggby coffee.  And on occasion, I splurge and buy an iced Americano.  None of that weak sugary tea stuff for me.

So when it comes to speakers, I want someone to speak straight to me too.  Don’t give me fru-fru, weak tea, way-to-happy-for-your-own-good kind of speaker.

I’m an eggs, bacon and tall coffee kind-a-girl.

So here’s who I want at my next Ladies Bacon Fest….eww, that sounded so bad I had to keep it.  Not that I’ve ever heard her speak, but I’d really like to.  I started following her blogs and tweets a while back.  Her name is Anne Jackson and her blog site is flowerdust.  Girlie and serious all at the same time.  She’s written several great books called Mad Church Disease and Permission to Speak Freely.   She writes transparently on subjects like marriage, sex-trafficking and leadership.  Right now she’s out biking around America for Blood:Water Mission….somewhere….I think I last saw her tweet from Texas.  Just thinking about biking EVERY DAY makes my bum hurt.

I’m thinking she wouldn’t mind a ladies tea right about now is she’s on her bike in Texas in JULY, huh? 

Is it just me or are women’s ministries obsessed with tea?

Tagged , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Viva La Femme: Anne Jackson

  1. Anne Jackson says:

    Thanks for the mention. I am a HUGE tea fan but the doilies and fancy cups I could do without. I am also a full blown mocha light frappé with soy and extra coffee girl for that matter. 🙂

    • clergygirl says:

      I’m so glad you found my post Anne! I love following your blog and all the ways you are serving and ministering to others!

  2. The Rev. Lynnette Fuller says:

    In the 1980’s I watched a pr film from The Episcopal Relief Effort focusing on those who had been rescued from almost certain death. Among the many disaster survivors that were interviewed, the experiences of two elderly women who were rescued from a small island off of Nova Scotia after a devastating hurricane profoundly changed and shaped my understanding of ministry. These gentle, stoic women spoke about realizing that their deaths were most likely close at hand, and how they waited through that day and the awful night to follow. They made a cup of tea for each other. They sat closely, sometimes holding each other hand to comfort, sometimes drying each others tears. They quietly shared their understanding of God’s love and purpose. They laughed through the some of the stories of each others lives and sometimes just nodded their heads in understanding and compassion. They approached their deaths as they had lived their lives. They lived their deaths. When there was nothing more that could have been done in preparation they had shared a cup of tea, shared themselves, shared their faith, the joy, their sorrow and went through the dark night together.

    I believe it is in making of the cup of tea, in the being present to each other and to God that a profound message of how the Divine works in this world was born out. This we can do for each other. This we can be.

    Years later I was required to write a thesis on my theology of ministry to fulfill the requirements for an M.Div from The General Theological Seminary in NYC. I titled it: “A Cup of Tea”. In a very frustrating for all Defense of the thesis, the committee finally had to take a respite and yes, we shared a cup of tea and some a cup of coffee.

    • clergygirl says:

      I love that story! I need to remember what it represents right….and that is fellowship and a supportive community. Thanks for sharing that.

  3. Carol Hnath says:

    I thought “ladies’ teas” had gone out of style- haven’t heard of any in quite awhile (except the one Barb Slates put on a few years ago to teach us all proper manners!). In spite of my Irish/Scottish/English heritage, I’ve never been a fan of “teas” either!

    • clergygirl says:

      I loved that tea with Barb! Thanks for reminding me:) I am attending a tea in a few weeks. I must run in tea circles huh! I go to one always yearly…lol!

  4. Michele Rutgers says:

    I hate coffee and I never liked tea either..that is until I went on a missions trip to Kenya. Our Kenyan hosts gently forced us to stop working twice a day, wash ourselves and sit down and have tea. We didn’t want to stop working. We had projects to accomplish. Work, work, work, that was our agenda. No time to sit and talk and drink tea. It didn’t help that I didn’t like tea, and I especially didn’t like they way they fixed it, with milk (to this day I couldn’t tell you what animal the milk came from). We did not want to offend our hosts so we complied. After a couple of days, I found I could drink the tea “black” (with no milk in it) and the 20 minute rest renewed my energy to work harder. By the end of the trip I actually enjoyed tea time. It was a chance to socialize with new friends, rest and be refreshed at the same time. I even brought some tea home with me.

    I am still not an avid tea drinker. I don’t drink tea when I am by myself, unless I need a warm-me-up. Tea is a drink of companionship. It is best when shared with others. Maybe that is why women’s ministries are obsessed with it. They offer a chance for women to get together, socialize and be refreshed in spirit. How many times do you get together with girlfriends and have a great time and then say, “Let’s do this again soon” and the next thing you know 2 months have flown by. When it is not ingrained in our spirits to stop and rest, it is hard to do without some kind of outside encouragement. That is why I am GRATEFUL for the women’s ministries teas. Maybe you’re tired of the teas, but frankly the sound of attending a “Women’s Coffee” just leaves a bad, coffee-like taste in my mouth. Tea just sounds better.

    • clergygirl says:

      I love fellowship for whatever reason…even if I drink tea:). I love your story because you were serving. I think I just really desire more depth and sometimes tea represents something frilly. But that’s probably how I perceived it growing up being forced to wear tights and frilly dresses. These stories helped me:)

  5. Edit: Delete this post

  6. I am now not positive the place you are getting your information, but great topic.

    I must spend a while learning more or figuring out more.
    Thanks for magnificent information I used to
    be in search of this info for my mission.

Leave a Reply

