Viva La Femme Friday: Hannah


When I was younger, my pastor nabbed me for ministry.  In my teen years, when I was busy planning and organizing events for my youth group, I’d drop by his office to ask really deep theological questions.  He was the first to begin planting seeds that I should consider being a pastor. 

So last summer a friend of mine contacted me and told me how her 4th grade daughter has decided she wants to be a pastor.  I love it.  I was more concerned with my bright white roller skates with big puff balls and groov’in to “We Are Family” by the Pointer Sisters in 4th grade than I was with sharing my faith.  Sure, I invited my friends to church, but because it was fun, not because I thought they might like Jesus. 

What can I say, I was a late bloomer.

Not Hannah.  This girl has it together, I can tell.  A few days ago her mom contacted me again, to tell me that Hannah was STILL talking about being in ministry.  So this wasn’t some passing phase.  And not only that, who needs to wait till you’re an adult to really be in ministry?  Not Hannah. 

Her mom sent me this interview about an organization Hannah has started called “Hannah’s Hope.”

You need to listen to this interview.  Seriously.  Please.  (Then you can hear how mature and cute she sounds)

(Hannah’s interview on Way FM)

Here’s what I love about Hannah.  First, she’s cute as a button. 

Second, she reminds me that you don’t need a degree, you don’t need lot’s of money, you don’t need to be 23 and you don’t need a fancy seminary degree to spread the message of Christ’s love for us.

And so, for my Viva La Femme Friday pick, I choose Hannah. 

And would you do me a few favors? 

#1

write a comment here to encourage Hannah in her passion for ministry and spreading the message of Jesus.  And,

#2

Keep your eyes open for young girls in your community that show leadership and passion for Jesus, and encourage them to consider serving Jesus in whatever capacity they feel called.

#3

Encourage your church leaders to make sure our young women see older women in leadership roles, including praying, singing, preaching, decisions making teams, children…anywhere, and everywhere. 

Yay Hannah for encouraging my spirit this week!

Tagged , , ,

8 thoughts on “Viva La Femme Friday: Hannah

  1. Lahdeedah says:

    How come it took me so long to find your blog, Clergygirl? In fact, i think we’re Facebook friends, lol. I simply cannot wait to come back and linger. From my brief experience here, you write thoughtfully, articulately and humorously about the things I want to know more about!

    xo Jill (aka Lahdeedah on Mothers with Cancer)

    • clergygirl says:

      Hey Jill! Thanks so much for stopping by. I think we are friends on facebook….and if not, we should be…lol! I need to post on MWC. It’s been a while.

  2. Courtney says:

    What an awesome feature you did on my little girl. My Hannah is amazing and I feel blessed that God gave me such a tender hearted child.

    I did show this to her and she laughed at the roller skate part… She’s got black ones but with blue pom pom! She can’t wait to meet you.

    • clergygirl says:

      Does she have a web site of blog site for Hannah’s Hope? She can start a blog for free at wordpress. Then I could direct people for general info.

      • Courtney says:

        Hannah does not have a web site. You can just direct them to my email hanstella9@yahoo.com

        Hannah is funny about the internet and modern day things LOL. I got her one of those small laptops thinking it would be handy since she is getting older… well, it maybe has been used 5 hours since Christmas. She’s the same with TV. She’d rather be drawing, writing, or playing outside.

        Anyone can just email me and I’ll relay the message to her. She loves talking to people about her mission though. (It’s Hannah Hopes by the way!)

      • Courtney says:

        Hannah does not have an email or a web page. You can direct people to my email hanstella9@yahoo.com and I can relay the message to her. She’s very willing to talk to people about her mission. (It’s Hannah Hopes by the way LOL)

        Eventually Hannah may want to do a blog or something. I’m going to leave that up to her. If I start one for her she will not keep at it. It’s gotta be her idea! Typical 10 year old…

  3. Misty says:

    Hannah is a great encouragement to me. It just shows that God will use ANYONE, young or old or in between to do His work. I can see Him standing there with His arm around her smiling while saying, “Well done good and faithful servant.”

    Hannah you are doing wonderful work. If only *I* could be like you! I have a couple teddy bears coming your way soon. Many blessings on you all. I pray that the children who get your wonderful gifts will feel God’s love reach His arms around them and hold them tight as they hold these stuffies. The light is bright with you Hannah. Thanks for the example in faith. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

